Milhouse

Microsoft Surface

RobM    195

I had one of the 20 RT's I was talking about in the previous thread, but it lasted just a few hours before being put back in its box. I even upgraded to 8.1 to see if that made it useful, but it didn't. I just don't see the point.

MadDog    464

The wife uses hers as a web browser, just as she did with the Playbook and I think she's getting onto it for that

I'm still struggling to work out how to use it correctly - but to be honest I've not given it much time yet

RobM    195

I think a big part of my problem with it was the other kit I use - at work I have an HP Spectre XT Pro (Ultrabook), at home I have a 13" MBA and an iPad Mini. The Surface was almost as big as my laptops and nowhere near as portable as the iPad Mini, so didn't offer any benefit.

satsuma    178

Well it seems the Surface 2 event is scheduled for 23rd Sept in NYC.

New RT version expected to be Tegra4, 1080p display and 4GB RAM.

The Pro version will be Haswell-powered have a a keyboard cover with extra battery inside as an option (think Nokia worked on this) and also a new dock allowing USB 3.0 connectivity and external display connectivity.

Both new models will have a slightly redesigned "2-stage" kick stand - dunno what means but if helps to balance better on one's lap then it's a good thing.

If Microsoft want this to take off they really need to get the pricing right.

Subsidising the RT hardware, in particular, is surely the only way MSFT are going to get any traction for RT with consumers.

Seeing as MSFT is always braying that it will become a services and devices company then they might as well subsidise the Pro too and say 'to he'll with licencees' not liking it.

MSFT's licencee business model is slowly dying anyway.

If they're going to make money from services and devices then they'd better put their only where their mouth is.